Day 3 - Footer Completed!

Road to Becoming a Front End Web Developer

ยท

2 min read

Today my father asked me to give him a hand with some renovations we are doing in my basement. It was also my step mother's birthday so again I did not have much time for practicing my coding. I do feel like I've been cheating myself this weekend since I haven't been able to dedicate a huge amount of time for coding. The whole time "holding the flash light" for my father I kept thinking of the problem I was running into for my current project.

The issue I ran into last night before logging off was not being able to get my footer links underneath my font awesome icons. I created an un-orderly list but for some reason it was shifted to the right side of my screen. I knew some other styling had to be causing this. I knew my header had to be involved because that is the only other section in my layout that had links. It turns out when styling in CSS I was using selectors to style tags instead of selecting tags with in classes. After a few change ups I decided to review my code and clean it up a bit, that way anyone trying to reference my layout can do it with ease.

Now that I have what I believe to be clean code. I got my un-orderly list right where I need it by applying CSS styling similar to my header.

Screen Shot 2021-06-07 at 00.09.57.png

It's pretty basic but I am satisfied with how this project is coming along so far compared to the 1999 looking layouts I was making a month ago, I am really enjoying my progress so far.

Here's an image of something I made 2 weeks into learning HTML & CSS:

Screen Shot 2021-06-07 at 01.03.00.png

Compared to today's work!:

Screen Shot 2021-06-07 at 01.05.17.png

All that's left is to make the site more responsive when it comes different screen sizes. So with that being said, media queries tomorrow!

Stay Tuned...

ย