Day 22 & 23 - Creativity Block Continues...

Road to Becoming a Front End Web Dev

ยท

3 min read

I decided not to make a post yesterday since barely was accomplished.. I also realized I broke my streak of posting everyday to my blog, which I also feel terrible about. I know I am not losing sight of my goal but not posting yesterday sent me into a slight mood today.

Anyhow, picking up where I left off last with my creative block, I decided I wanted to make a portfolio site for my last CSS project before moving on to JavaScript. I want to include all things I have learned in my two months of HTML and CSS studies but my only problem is I have no creative idea for my site. I googled many portfolio sites for inspiration but I kept coming across profiles that'll be too difficult for me to replicate at my current skill level.

My only option was to come up with a layout from the soul. I tried a few different iterations until I came up with a 3D, blogging like site layout. It is kind of hard to explain what I mean so I attached an image below.

Screen Shot 2021-06-27 at 01.34.22.png

I do like how it was coming along and I believe I can make a strong site using this layout but this is no normal site to me, this is my portfolio site! I want it to speak volumes to the user. I want it to show people I know my position well enough to have a site based on all the things you can do with the tech stack I know. I wanted it to pop and be rememberable (The fact that I am striving for something of this caliper is probably causing me to be indecisive). The next morning (today) I ended up scraping the layout and started fresh.

I really like Glassmorphism and had a lot of fun working on my previous project using Glassmorphism where I created glass like cards displaying "team member" info. I thought maybe I can set my site's theme around this and have each page's content be contained in a glass like card. I am still very early in the planning/design stage and I'm trying a few things to see which way I prefer. I am currently using the same gradient background from my morphism project. I might change this eventually down the road, or maybe include a different gradient pattern each page, I'm not sure yet.

Unfortunately it is the weekend and my weekend errands has taken up most of my time today. I am excited to work on my new idea tomorrow. Hopefully I can elaborate on it some more.

Here's an image of what I got so far:

Screen Shot 2021-06-27 at 01.34.27.png

Stay Tuned...!

ย