Day 21 - Creativity Block

Road to Becoming a Front End Web Dev

ยท

3 min read

Today was difficult, my creative side of my brain was not working. After completing 15+ project in HTML and CSS I have very few ideas left. I know what I need to practice on but I just couldn't imagine anything in terms of project making.

I started my day making some more progress in my FreeCodeCamp Responsive Web Design course. This section speaks about accessibility and semantic code importance. I really had no idea that accessibility features are just as important as making you web page responsive or creating fallbacks for different browsers. I mean it does make sense, why discriminate against your users. During this section I am also learning about semantic code and the importance to structure your code with correct tags. I also now understand how it correlates to search engines and accessibility tech. I was able to get about half way through and have been learning a lot. I'm glad I came across this topic since it adds onto my knowledge of what makes a good site.

Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 02.24.19.png

Of course since this topic is new to me, I have filled out several pages worth of notes:

IMG_1797.jpg

Moving on this is where I hit my low.. I used up a lot of time thinking of what my next project should be. I thought I start with a small warm up project to get my brain going. I decided to make a sign up page. It was pretty simple and I was able to code it with confidence. These last few project I have been able to visualize what I want while connecting it to the property that can execute this idea for me. As a result of this I was able to make a simple yet effective responsive Sign up page with no sweat! I did forget a few things here and there causing issues, but nothing my memory couldn't fix.

Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 02.40.13.png

Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 02.40.05.png

Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 02.31.25.png

During this mini project I still had no idea of what I wanted to do for my next project. I thought of another animation project (since i'm still a bit shaky on it) or maybe something entirely new like a product landing page since I am looking to freelance my skills in the future to my friends and family businesses. I did bore an idea of making a product landing page for a website that sells server packages. This idea led to the idea of making a landing page for services I can provide as a freelancer. This seems like my most favorable idea at the moment as I'd be able to use or build on it in the future and eventually incorporate with my personal online site.

Whatever I may choose to do I thought I take the rest of the day off to recharge my batteries. This creativity block I feel is due to my own fatigue. I need some rest physically and mentally. Even though I took the rest of the day off, I still watched a few videos on certain topics for fun.

Hopefully tomorrow I can be a little more productive.

Stay Tuned...

ย