Day 7 - Masonry Grid Site Completed

Road to Becoming a Front End Web Dev

ยท

2 min read

Today I was able to complete my first full website home page, header to footer! I couldn't be more proud of myself! I believe through this project I have proven to myself I have a solid foundation of HTML and CSS. I can say through the coding process, mostly CSS, I am now confident and for the most part familiar with the abilities of most properties.

Now I know in my last post I mentioned I was going to be creating a hamburger menu for my Navbar when the site is being viewed at 770px or smaller but I decided to ditch the idea and just create an icon for this menu as a placeholder until I learn JavaScript. The reason I decided to ditch my original idea was because I did not posses enough skills with CSS to replicate what I saw on Codepen and Youtube without a tutorial. I also identified something like a hamburger menu to be an advanced project on it's own if using pure CSS and since I am just building a foundation for the basics then moving on to JavaScript, I decided to come back to this project and create an actual animated hamburger menu using JavaScript.

Aside from the the menu icon media query I also did a few visual touch ups. I first decided to add a black border to my images with a 5px radius that way the pictures can appear rounded and less edgy. I also rounded off the logo border adding to the curvature theme of my site.

Screen Shot 2021-06-11 at 23.04.09.png

Screen Shot 2021-06-11 at 23.05.26.png

Now that I am comfortable and somewhat familiar with CSS starting tomorrow I will begin learning my first framework, bootstrap 5. I am excited to continue learning CSS while learning something entirely new. I feel it'll be a well needed break from the critical thinking I've been doing this last week. I would also like to create one last project before this month ends and I move onto JavaScript.

Stay Tuned...

ย